Priests in The Diocese
About Diocese of Jhansi

Jhansi diocese is in the northern India's state of Uttar Pradesh. It has an area of 29,418 square kilometers, with seven civil districts: Jhansi, Lalitpur, Jalaun, Banda, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, and Mahoba. There are 12,832 Catholics, representing 0.046 percent of 82, 32,071 people in the territory. Followers of other religions are Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs. The diocese has 24 parishes and mission stations. Most of the Catholics are migrants and are railway employees with very few locals, who live in the towns. People in the diocese speak Hindi, Urdu, Bhundelkhandi and English. The Region then belonging to the Allahabad diocese, was detached in 1929 and was entrusted to the Maltese Province Capuchins, who were working in Allahabad diocese. Though the area was declared a prefecture on Jan. 12, 1940, it remained without its prefect due to World War II. On Jan. 21, 1946, Msgr Francis Xavier Fenech O.F.M. Cap was appointed its Prefect Apostolic. On July 5, 1954 the Prefecture was raised to be a diocese by appointing the Prefect Apostolic Msgr Francis Xavier Fenech O.F.M. Cap as its first bishop. Msgr Baptist Mudartha was appointed its auxiliary bishop in 1963. He succeeded Msgr Fenech as its first Indian bishop in August 1967. Bishop Baptist Mudartha was Transferred to Allahabad in 1977. Bishop Frederick D'Sousa was ordained Bishop on 25-04-1977 and he assumed the charge of the Diocese as the third Bishop. On Feb. 10, 1999, the civil districts of Bhind, Datia, Gwalior, Morena, Shivpuri and Sheopur, belonging to the neighbouring Madhya Pradesh state, were detached from Jhansi diocese, to form the diocese of Gwalior. Church activities Besides pastoral care of the Catholics, the church is involved in the ministries of education and social welfare activities. Through Sadbhavana Samiti (Ecumenical Forum), the Church is trying to bring all religious people together.